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This guide encourages smoke-free policies in multi-unit housing. It has everything you need 
to ask questions of your tenants, write an addition to your lease that covers a smoke-free policy, 
and how to let your residents know about the policy. Once you have decided to go smoke-free, 
this guide can help you establish a time frame and help you put the new policy into action.

Secondhand smoke caused by neighbors can be a nuisance and be harmful to residents who 
live in your apartment or condominium community. State and local health departments 
often receive calls from residents who are bothered by secondhand smoke drifting into their 
unit. Secondhand smoke from one unit can seep through cracks or travel through a shared 
ventilation system and enter into another person’s living space. As a landlord, this creates 
problems in dealing with related tenant conflicts and tension. 

Smoke-free policies can help property managers and owners protect their residents from the 
dangers of exposure to secondhand smoke and protect the investment in the buildings. Much 
like smoke-free policies in worksites and other places where the public has access, establishing 
a smoke-free policy does not ban someone who smokes from living there, it just requires that 
all residents abide by the policy while on the property. 

Smoke-free policies are becoming the norm for multi-unit housing in the United States. There 
is no federal law or state law that prohibits an owner from implementing a smoke-free policy 
for their buildings or premises. In Utah, the Second Hand Smoke Amendments establish 
secondhand smoke as a nuisance under the law and give authority for apartment rental 
contracts to include prohibitions on smoking in units, on the premises, or both. 

The Utah Statewide Smoke-Free Housing Directory lists rental properties that have adopted 
a smoke-free policy. This listing is provided as a free service for property managers and 
owners who wish to list their smoke-free buildings. State and local health departments use the 
directory when people ask them where they can find smoke-free housing.

A landlord’s tool kit to adopting smoke-free policies
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INTRODUCTION

“Making the change to a smoke-free building has given us a 
great opportunity to positively impact our residents’ health 
and we are so pleased to be able to offer smoke-free living to 
all of our tenants!”

—Katie Edwards, Project Director for Golden Links Manor
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Secondhand smoke (SHS) comes from lit cigarettes. It is also the smoke that comes out of a 
smoker’s mouth. SHS has thousands of chemicals.1 SHS can cause cancer, heart disease, and many 
other health problems.2  

Secondhand Smoke is Dangerous to Your Health:
 

•  There is no safe level of SHS exposure. Even brief exposure can be dangerous.2

•  SHS contains over 4,000 chemicals. More than 50 of those chemicals are known to cause 
cancer.1

• SHS can cause deadly lung cancer in people who do not smoke.2

• Living with a smoker gives you a 20–30 percent higher chance of getting lung cancer.2

• 3,000 Americans die every year from lung cancer caused by breathing SHS. 2

• Being around SHS increases the risk of heart disease among nonsmokers by 25–30 percent.2

• 46,000 Americans die each year from heart disease caused by SHS. 2

• SHS can affect nonsmokers by causing eye irritation, headaches, nausea, and dizziness.3, 4

•  430 American newborns die each year from Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) caused 
by SHS.2

•  SHS causes ear problems, acute respiratory infections, and wheeze illnesses in children, 
which slow their lung growth and make asthma more severe.2

Secondhand smoke in Utah:

• More than 93 percent of Utahns have set rules against smoking in their home.6, 7

•  Ninety-eight percent of Utah children live in smoke-free homes, but nearly 14,800 Utah 
children still breathe SHS in their homes.5, 6, 7
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SECONDHAND SMOKE FACTS
Many people know that secondhand smoke is harmful to your health  
—but just how bad is it?
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Secondhand Smoke in Homes and Asthma in Utah

Key Facts

Asthma is a chronic lung disease that can make it hard to breathe. Asthma symptoms can include 
coughing, shortness of breath, and chest tightness. For those with asthma, exposure to triggers like 
tobacco smoke can cause asthma symptoms or a full-blown asthma attack. Severe asthma attacks may 
result in a visit to the emergency room or hospitalization.

• 8.6 percent of adults (about 167,000 adults) in Utah have asthma.8

• 6.9 percent of children (about 61,000 children) in Utah have asthma.8

SHS is especially harmful to those with asthma because it can trigger an asthma attack.9 It is one of 
the most common asthma triggers and causes more frequent and severe asthma attacks in children. 
There is no safe level of exposure to SHS. The only way to fully protect those with asthma from 
exposure to SHS is to stop people from smoking indoors. 

In Utah

•  Renters have a higher prevalence of asthma than the general population: 10.7 percent of 
adult renters have asthma versus 8.6 percent of adult nonrenters.8 

•  A high school student with asthma who lives with someone who smokes is 2.3 times more 
likely to miss school than a high school student with asthma who does not live with a 
smoker.10 

•  A middle school student with asthma who lives with someone who smokes is 1.2 times 
more likely to miss school than a high school student with asthma who does not live with a 
smoker.10 

For more information, visit www.health.utah.gov/asthma
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“The main reason for the decision to become smoke-free  
communities is for the health of our tenants.”

—Sandy Aldrich, Occupancy Director, Danville Development Corporation
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Consider these facts: 
•  Commercial air filtering systems are designed to take away the smell, but not the health risks 

from secondhand smoke. 
• Shared ventilation systems can cause tobacco smoke to blow from one room into another. 
• Secondhand smoke can seep in and out of open windows and doors. 
• Secondhand smoke stays in a room even after the smoking has stopped.

The 2006 U.S. Surgeon General’s Report says that the only way to fully protect nonsmokers from 
exposure to secondhand smoke indoors is to stop people from smoking indoors. The report says all 
exposure to SHS carries risk. Separating smokers from nonsmokers, cleaning the air, and ventilating 
buildings cannot keep nonsmokers from being exposed to SHS.11

•  Short exposures to secondhand smoke can cause blood platelets to become stickier, damage 
the lining of blood vessels, decrease coronary flow velocity reserves, and reduce heart rate 
variability, potentially increasing the risk of a heart attack. 

•  Secondhand smoke contains many chemicals that can quickly irritate and damage the lining 
of the airways. Even brief exposure can result in upper airway changes in healthy persons and 
can lead to more frequent asthma attacks in children who have asthma. 

•  Conventional air cleaning systems can remove large particles, but not the smaller particles or 
gases found in secondhand smoke. 

•  Routine operation of a heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning system can distribute 
secondhand smoke throughout a building. 

•  The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers 
(ASHRAE), the preeminent U.S. body on ventilation issues, has concluded that ventilation 
technology cannot be relied on to control health risks from secondhand smoke exposure. 

Research says there is no safe level of exposure to SHS; even low levels of SHS can cause illness or even 
death. Research also says that, depending on the age and design of a building, up to 65 percent of the 
air in a unit can come from other units in the building through tiny cracks and gaps, which exposes 
people to SHS.12 Air filters and air purifiers will take out some particles from the air; however, they can’t 
remove the particles that settle on walls, carpets, etc. 

Secondhand smoke can’t be controlled by ventilation and air purifiers. In 2010, the American Society 
of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, released a statement on secondhand smoke, 
saying that ventilation technology can’t be relied on to control health risks from SHS exposure. The 
paper ends by saying, “At present, the only means of effectively eliminating health risk associated with 
indoor exposure of SHS is to ban smoking activity.” The document also encourages completely doing 
away with smoking in indoor environments as the best way to cut Environmental Tobacco Smoke 
(ETS) exposure.13 
 

Secondhand smoke can’t be controlled by ventilation and air purifiers
INDOOR AIR QUALITY
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Secondhand smoke can easily travel to other units in your complex through the 
ventilation system, light fixtures, pipes, or electrical outlets. As such, there really isn’t 
such a thing as a non-smoking apartment that is nearby a smoking apartment. 
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“Our residents deserve to breathe clean air. It’s as simple as 
that. If you live in an apartment, what you do has an effect on 
others. A smoke-free community protects our residents from 
the harmful effects of secondhand smoke and allows everyone 
to enjoy the beautiful outdoor spaces without being subjected 
to a major health risk.”

 —Jenifer Ewoniuk, Vice President, COO, Cowboy Properties
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MARKET DEMAND

In Utah, 91.2 percent of Utahns don’t smoke.14 As people have become more aware of the dangers of 
secondhand smoke, more and more look for housing where smoking is prohibited. Currently,  
93 percent of Utah households don’t allow smoking in the home.14 Unfortunately, people who live 
in multi-unit housing have no control over SHS caused by neighbors. National surveys show that 
residents of multi-unit housing are in support of a smoke-free policy. There is high demand for 
smoke-free housing. In fact, national surveys also show that even people who smoke prefer smoke-
free housing.
 
People who live in Utah are used to being protected from SHS. State law prohibits people from 
smoking in workplaces, restaurants, clubs, and other public places. Utahns expect clean air in their 
apartment or condominium and have the right to live in a safe and healthy environment. A non-
smoking policy can increase interest in your property from renters.

As a property manager, you might fear that making your property smoke-free could affect business 
negatively. Not so! Research shows that:

•  A number of public opinion surveys have found that a significant majority of tenants support 
smoke-free apartment policies.15,16,17

•   Several national surveys demonstrate that as many as 78 percent of tenants, including 
smokers, would choose to live in a smoke-free complex. 

•   Secondhand smoke complaints and requests for unit transfers drop following the 
implementation of a smoke-free policy. 

•   Nationwide, less than 21 percent of the general population smoke18, so it makes sense that a 
vast majority of tenants want to live in a smoke-free environment.

ADVANTAGES OF A  
SMOKE-FREE POLICY
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Smoke-free properties are in high demand and can provide significant cost 
savings and reduce risk of damage for your property
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LOWER CLEANING COSTS

Smoking can cause serious damage to apartment units. The smoke leaves stains on walls, curtains, 
cabinets, blinds, appliances, and fixtures. Cigarettes can leave burn damage on tiles, carpets, 
curtains, countertops, and bathtubs. The smell of smoke in carpets, curtains, and walls can remain 
for years. On average, it costs property managers or owners two to seven times more money to clean 
a unit that has been smoked in.19

Since many residents know about the dangers of being exposed to SHS, some may even decide not 
to rent an apartment if it has been smoked in. Rather than risk exposing their loved ones to SHS, 
they might look for somewhere else to live. 

Maintenance costs increase when units are vacated by a smoker. Costs include, but are not limited 
to, additional paint to cover smoke stains, replacing blinds, or replacing carpets that have been 
damaged by cigarettes. The cost to rehabilitate a unit where smoking is prohibited versus a unit 
where smoking is allowed is shown below.

Cleaning costs when a tenant vacates your property:  
smoking vs. non-smoking apartments

Nonsmoking Light Smoking Heavy Smoking

General Cleaning $240 $500 $720

Paint $170 $225 $480

Flooring $50 $950 $1,425

Appliances $60 $75 $490

Bathroom $40 $60 $400

Total $560 $1,810 $3,515

*Data reflects surveys from housing authorities and subsidized housing facilities in New England.19
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“We decided to implement a smoke-free policy on our properties 
in order to eliminate the health risks of secondhand smoke and 
also to cut down on smoke damage in our apartment units. 
We grandfathered the policy in over a 12-month period so that 
anyone that was in a current lease had the opportunity to decide 
to move if they didn’t want to comply with the no-smoking 
policy. We actually had very little turnover due to implementing 
this policy and it has virtually had no effect on renting apartment 
units. It also has had a significant impact on turnover costs.” 

—Jenifer Ewoniuk, Vice President, COO, Cowboy Properties
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Getting Real about Cleaning Costs

•  In today’s tough economy, most companies are struggling to reduce routine turnover costs 
without tacking on an additional $1,000 to $3,000 for apartments with smoke damage.20

•  Kennedy Restoration, a restoration maintenance company in Portland, Oregon, recently 
developed a cost estimate for cleaning a smoker’s apartment. It identified the need to replace 
carpeting and vinyl appliances, as well as the possible replacement of other flooring and sub-
flooring, lighting fixtures, cabinets, and ceiling fans, and the use of special sealants to control 
odors before painting. Kennedy Restoration estimated the cost of properly cleaning a two-
bedroom, two-bath, smoked-in apartment at approximately $15,000.21

“In our experience, it costs Nampa Housing Authority nearly 
double the amount of money in time and materials to make a 
smoker’s unit ready for lease versus that of a nonsmoker.” 

—Andy Rodriguez, Executive Director, Nampa Housing Authority 

The tar in cigarette smoke stains walls—this requires  
additional restoration and extensive cleaning.
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LOWER RISK OF FIRE DAMAGE

Smoking materials (i.e., cigarettes, cigars, etc.) are the leading cause of home fire deaths in the United 
States. In 2010, U.S. fire departments responded to an estimated 90,800 smoking-material fires. These 
fires caused 610 civilian deaths, 1,570 civilian injuries, and $663 million in direct property damage.22  

One out of four victims of smoking-material fires is not the smoker whose cigarette started the fire.22

Smoking should not be allowed in a home where oxygen is used. Pure oxygen is highly flammable, 
even more than normal air, and striking a match or holding a lit cigarette anywhere near it can start a 
fire. The risk of dying in a home structure by smoking materials rises with age.22 Smoking is by far the 
leading cause of burns, reported fires, deaths, and injuries involving home medical oxygen.23 Two out 
of five (39 percent) fatal home smoking-material fire victims were age 65 and older, although they 
make up just 12 percent of the population.22

Smoking  materials are the number one cause of home and apartment fires in the 
U.S.
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It is legal for managers and landlords to make rental units smoke-free.

• Smokers are not considered a protected group under anti-discrimination laws.
•  Smoking is not considered a “constitutional right.”24 So, building managers and owners can 

ban smoking in the building, just as they can decide not to allow pets.
•  In federally subsidized housing, you can’t refuse to rent to smokers, but you can keep them 

from smoking in the unit. The policy is allowed if it targets the behavior, not the smoker. 
That means that smokers can rent, but can’t smoke in the building.

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT AND FAIR HOUSING ACT 

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) allows smoke-free policies. Since smoking is not 
considered a disability, smokers are not protected under the Fair Housing Act (FHA). Residents with 
health conditions (such as emphysema, heart conditions, asthma, and COPD) who would be affected 
by secondhand smoke could be considered as having a disability under the law.
 
Under the FHA, managers and owners may have to provide a reasonable accommodation to a resident 
whose disability is made worse by exposure to SHS. Possible accommodations could include adopting 
a smoke-free policy, repairing air flow systems to keep or cut back on secondhand smoke infiltration, or 
adding separate ventilation or heating systems.

UTAH LAW

The Second Hand Smoke Amendments (SHSA) were passed in 1997 by the Utah State Legislature. These 
amendments apply to any tobacco smoke that drifts into any residential unit a person rents, leases, or owns, 
from another residential or commercial unit, and is a nuisance under the law §78B-6-1101-(3). 

The Second Hand Smoke Amendments:
•  Give authority for apartment rental contracts to include prohibitions on smoking tobacco 

products in the residential units, on the premises, or both §57-22-5-1(h).
•  Provide that residents of apartments and condominiums may seek injunctive relief and/or 

damages if exposed to nuisance tobacco smoke §78B-6-1101(3).
•  Give authority to condominium associations to restrict smoking tobacco products in units, 

common areas, and yard space §57-8-16-7(a)(b).
•  Exempt rental units for vacation or available for 30 days or fewer at a time, from the nuisance 

tobacco provisions §78B-6-1101(4)(a)(5).
•  Provide authority for an apartment renter to file a nuisance action under §78B-6-1101-(2) 

even if the renter has signed away his rights to file a nuisance. 

Property owners and managers have the right to put rules in place to protect 
their property and the health of their residents

LEGAL ISSUES

Leg
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The Utah Indoor Clean Air Act:
The Utah Indoor Clean Air Act (UICAA) is designed to protect Utahns and visitors from exposure 
to the harmful effects of secondhand smoke. In general, “Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed 
indoor places of public access and publicly owned buildings and offices…” §UC 26-38-3(1). Outside 
smoking designated areas are not allowed within 25 feet of building entrances, exits, air intakes, or 
windows. Ashtrays closer than 25 feet of the building are required to have a sign stating “No Smoking,” 
“For extinguishing cigarettes only—No Smoking,” or similar, and a reference to the 25-foot probibition 
§R 392-510-9(1), (2). In Utah, all laws regarding secondhand smoke produced by cigarettes also apply 
to the emissions caused by electronic cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or personal vaporizers.

PUBLIC HOUSING—HUD AND SECTION 8

On May 29, 2012, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) reissued PIH 
Notice 2009-21 titled “Non-Smoking Policies in Public Housing.” The notice stated that HUD 
“strongly encourages Public Housing Authorities (PHAs) to implement non-smoking policies in 
some or all of their public housing units.” The notice encourages PHAs to adopt smoke-free policies 
in their buildings, including in common areas and in individual units.25 The notice explains the 
health problems associated with secondhand smoke and also points out the additional costs to PHAs 
of cleaning units where smokers have lived. This statement is likely to encourage more PHAs to 
adopt smoke-free policies.

In September 2010, HUD’s Multi-Family Housing Section issued a notice titled, “Optional 
Smoke-Free Housing Policy Implementation,” to encourage owners and management agents (O/As) 
of HUD Multi-Family Housing rental assistance programs to put smoke-free policies in some or all 
of their properties.26 The notice explains the requirements for creating and adopting smoke-free 
housing policies and applies only to O/As who choose to establish such policies. 

These notices are significant developments in clarifying the right of local PHAs, as well as providers of 
Section 8, senior, and disabled affordable housing to adopt smoke-free policies for the buildings under 
their control. HUD’s support for smoke-free housing is key because many individuals and families 
who live in buildings receiving HUD funding are among the most vulnerable to the serious health 
impacts of secondhand smoke exposure. 
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The Smoke-Free Environmental Law Project (SFELP) is a website that compiles extensive materials 
on secondhand smoke in apartments and condominiums for all parties involved: tenants, owners, 
and managers. The website includes separate sections for apartments and condominiums.  
www.tcsg.org/sfelp/home.htm

•  Analysis of the Authority of Housing Authorities and Section 8 Multi-Unit Housing  
Owners to Adopt Smoke-Free Policies in Their Residential Units, Schoenmarklin, Susan, 
May 2005, for the Smoke-Free Law Project.  
www.tcsg.org/sfelp/public_housing24E577.pdf

The Tobacco Control Legal Consortium (TCLC) is a national network supporting tobacco control 
policy change by giving advocates better access to legal expertise. TCLC has developed summaries 
of various issues regarding secondhand smoke in multi-unit housing. Individuals with questions 
regarding application of the law to specific facts should consult a qualified legal advisor familiar with 
laws in Utah.  

•  Secondhand Smoke Seepage into Multi-Unit Affordable Housing. April, 2010. 
»   The synopsis discusses smoke-free policies in public and other affordable housing. It also 

analyzes legal issues, HUD policies, and how to adopt smoke-free policies.  
www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/resources/tclc-syn-
secondhand-2010_0.pdf

•   Infiltration of Secondhand Smoke into Condominiums, Apartments and Other Multi-Unit 
Dwellings. October, 2009. 
»   A synopsis summarizing the legal remedies for landlords, condominium associations and 

tenants of multi-unit dwellings concerned about secondhand smoke infiltration. 
www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/resources/tclc-syn-condos-2009_0.pdf

• There is No Constitutional Right to Smoke, March, 2008. 
»  A synopsis explaining why smoking is not a constitutionally protected right.  
 www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/resources/tclc-syn-constitution-2005.pdf

LEGAL MATERIALS
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Resources that can provide specific legal information as you  
prepare to go smoke-free
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•  The Americans with Disabilities Act: Effective Legal Protections Against Secondhand 
Smoke Exposure. April, 2004. 
»   A synopsis of the law describing when exposure to secondhand smoke qualifies as a 

disability under the ADA, the scope and constitutionality of Titles I and II of the ADA, as 
well as remedies under the ADA for smoking-related discrimination.  
www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/resources/tclc-syn-disabilities-2004.pdf

•  Legal Options for Condominium Owners Exposed to Secondhand Smoke. December, 2006.
»   A synopsis of legal options for condominiums.  

www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/resources/tclc-syn-condos-2006_0.pdf

“Designating a building smoke-free is only the first step in 
the long process of helping it become a truly smoke-free 
environment. Owners, managers and residents must work 
together in a cooperative  effort to strengthen partnerships, 
develop the needed tools, and continue steps along the path 
toward effective smoke-free buildings.

–Sandy Aldrich, Occupancy Director, Danville Development Corporation
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In May 2012, an office within the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) reissued 
a memorandum that “strongly encouraged Public Housing Authorities to implement no-smoking 
policies in some or all of their public housing units.” In September 2010, HUD issued a notice titled, 
“Optional Smoke-Free Housing Policy Implementation to encourage owners and management 
participating in one of the Multi-Family Housing rental assistance programs to implement smoke-
free housing policies in some or all of the properties they own or manage.”

There are two options when adopting a smoke-free policy in subsidized housing.  
 1)  Include a smoke-free clause to the house rules. If the smoke-free policy meets the 

standard HUD criteria for house rules, the policy change does not require HUD 
approval. 

 2)  Make a smoke-free policy a condition of the lease. Those using HUD’s model lease are 
required to seek HUD approval before any lease changes can be made. 

HUD requires at least 30 days (written) notice of a lease change or adoption of a house rule. A lease 
may not be changed without the tenant’s consent before the date of lease renewal. The Smoke-Free 
Environments Law Project of Michigan recommends that landlords provide a period of 60-90 days 
of reasonable notice to all tenants before any lease changes are made.

As of January 2011, at least 230 local housing authorities nationally have adopted no-smoking 
policies for some or all of their apartment buildings. About 214 were adopted since the beginning of 
January 2005—an average of about 2.9 per month. That constitutes a 1,300 percent increase in the 
number of housing authorities with no-smoking policies in 72 months. In Utah, three of 19 housing 
authorities have adopted policies in some or all of their communities.

AFFORDABLE AND PUBLIC HOUSING
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It is legal for owners and managers of subsidized housing to implement a 
smoke-free policy
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When your rental community decides to develop a policy to prohibit or restrict smoking, take time to 
come up with a plan to help put the policy in place. Below are some suggestions to implement a smoke-
free policy in new and existing buildings.

FOR NEW BUILDINGS 

If it’s a new community, it should be fairly easy to implement a smoke-free policy. Your residents have 
no pre-existing expectations. Simply follow these steps to create a healthy and safe policy for your 
new property:

•  Include smoke-free provisions in your lease/rental agreements. Putting smoke-free language 
in your lease or declaration makes it enforceable. Consult your legal advisor about the terms 
and language of rental agreements or declarations. (See “Model Lease Addendum” in the 
Policy Adoption Materials section.)

•  Post “Smoke-Free Area” or “No Smoking” signs. This will make enforcement of the smoke-
free policy in common areas a lot easier. (See “Smoke-Free Housing Signage” in the Policy 
Adoption Materials section for ideas.)

•  Educate employees on how to answer questions regarding the policy. The more your 
employees know about the law and policy, the easier it will be to deal with any problems that 
may come up.

•  Advertise your property as smoke-free in the newspaper and real estate magazine ads. This 
will set you apart from other multi-unit housing complexes that allow smoking. It will also 
make it easier for you to deal with questions regarding the policy since potential residents 
will know what to expect.

•  Register your community at Utah’s Smoke-Free Apartment and Condominium Guide and 
Statewide Directory. This will help people looking for smoke-free housing find you.

FOR EXISTING BUILDINGS 

If you would like to implement a new smoke-free policy in an existing building, consider these tips:

• Make a plan. Here are four ways to implement smoke-free policies in your property:
  1)  Phase In: Once a smoker moves out, the unit becomes smoke-free. However, phasing in a 

policy delays implementation until all smokers are no longer residing in your community. 
An alternative would be to grandfather them for a certain amount of time, such as three or 
six months. This gives your residents who smoke time to get used to the policy.

  2)  Smoke-Free Date: Pick a date when your building(s) will become smoke-free. Be sure to 
communicate this to tenants. 
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STEPS TO GO SMOKE-FREE
If you’re ready to make your property a healthier place for all to live,  
here are your first steps
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  3)  Designated Smoking Areas: Designate specific areas as smoke-free. Select the area with 
the fewest smokers to become a non-smoking section. If there is more than one building, 
perhaps one building could be designated as smoke-free.

  4)  Smoke-free Common Use Areas: Don’t allow smoking in common-use areas. Areas 
everyone uses, such as lobbies, hallways, balconies, laundry facilities, playgrounds, 
clubhouses, and swimming pool and spa areas can be made smoke-free.

•  Talk with residents about a smoke-free policy. Hold a meeting that is open to all residents. 
It’s safe to expect that not everyone will like the idea, but focus on the dangers of 
secondhand smoke and the fact that secondhand smoke drifts from unit to unit.

•  You may want to survey your tenants to find out how much support you have for the policy.  
Surveys can also help you assess what buildings can easily be made smoke-free, and then try 
to move nonsmoking residents to those buildings. Offer an incentive to encourage residents 
to move. (See “Sample Tenant Survey” in the Policy Adoption Materials section.)

•  Let all residents know about the policy change in a letter. Ask renters to sign a copy saying 
they intend to comply with the new policy. Leases should be updated with the new smoke-
free language, which becomes effective upon lease renewal. Putting smoke-free language in 
your lease makes it legally enforceable. You should consult your legal advisor about the terms 
and language of rental agreements. (See “Sample Resident Notification Letter” in the Policy 
Adoption Materials section.)

•  Post “Smoke-Free Area” or “No Smoking” signs in designated areas. This will make 
enforcement of the smoke-free policy in common areas a lot easier. (See “Smoke-Free 
Housing Signage” in the Policy Adoption Materials section.) 

•  Remove ashtrays and move receptacles for smoking materials at least 25 feet away (or 
farther if your policy requires it) from entrances. Put up signs indicating that smoking is not 
allowed. This will encourage residents and guests to smoke away from common areas and 
other smoke-free areas.

•  Put fliers in mailboxes and in common areas. If there is a resident newsletter, include 
information about the new policy to notify residents. Let them know about resources 
available to help smokers quit (e.g., Utah Tobacco Quit Line: 1.800.QUIT.NOW or  
www.waytoquit.org). For more information on quitting resources, see the Policy Adoption 
Materials section.

•  Educate employees on how to answer questions regarding policy. The more your employees 
know about the law and policy, the easier it will be to deal with any problems that may  
come up. 

•  Promote your smoke-free community. Advertise your property as smoke-free in the 
newspaper and real estate magazine ads. Register your apartment or condominium complex 
on Utah’s Smoke-Free Apartment and Condominium Guide and Statewide Directory. This 
will help people who are looking for smoke-free housing to find you.
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You will find these materials on the following pages:

• Sample Tenant Survey with Letter
• Sample Tenant Survey
• Sample Resident Notification Letter—Option 1
• Sample Resident Notification Letter—Option 2
• Model Smoke-Free Lease Addendum
• Model Lease Provisions
• Smoke-Free Policy Adoption Checklist
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All of the materials needed to make the transition to a smoke-free property 
smooth and easy

POLICY ADOPTION MATERIALS
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SAMPLE TENANT SURVEY WITH LETTER

        Date __________________   
 

Dear Residents:

We are pleased that you have chosen to reside at __________________. We have been studying the 
changes that are occurring in the management of apartments. Many owners are deciding to regulate the 
use of tobacco products within their properties. One reason for this is because secondhand smoke is a 
health hazard. The 2006 U.S. Surgeon General’s Report stated that there is no safe level of exposure to 
secondhand smoke.

In addition, smoking materials are the leading cause of fire deaths. Cigarettes, cigars, and pipes are twice 
as likely to be the cause of fires in apartment buildings, compared to one- and two-family homes and 
mobile homes.

To ensure the enjoyment and safety of all persons living here, we are considering designating some or all 
of our units as smoke-free. But, we would also like to hear from you. Please let us know what you think by 
filling out the short survey on the following page. 

Those who complete the survey and return it to the office by _______________ will be entered in a 
drawing for a $50 gift certificate. 

Sincerely,
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SAMPLE TENANT SURVEY WITH LETTER

1. How many occupants in your unit smoke? _____________

2. Do you allow guests to smoke in your unit?        ☐ YES           ☐ NO

3. Have you been bothered by secondhand smoke drifting into your apartment?      ☐ YES      ☐NO
     If yes, can you identify the source of the smoke? _______________________________

4. What policies would you support? (check all that apply)

 ☐ Smoking prohibited in ALL residential units
 ☐  Smoking prohibited in SOME residential units (designate smoking/nonsmoking buildings              

as is done with hotel rooms)
 ☐ Smoking prohibited within 25 feet of building entrances/stairwells
 ☐ Smoking prohibited on balconies/patios
 ☐  Smoking prohibited at outdoor common areas (pool, children’s play area, tennis/volleyball 

courts, etc.)
 ☐ Smoking prohibited entirely on the premises
 ☐ No restrictions on smoking 

5. If certain buildings were designated as NON-smoking, would you be interested in moving
     into a smoke-free building?          ☐ YES     ☐ NO    ☐ POSSIBLY
 
6. If certain buildings were designated as SMOKING, would you be interested in moving into
     a smoking-permitted building?     ☐ YES     ☐ NO     ☐ POSSIBLY

Comments:            
            
            
            

Name (optional)           
 
Address (optional)           
   

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
TENANT SURVEY GIFT CERTIFICATE DRAWING
Thank you for filling out our survey. To be entered in the drawing, please fill out the information below, 
detach from the survey, and turn in to the collection box or office drop box.

Name: ____________________________  Phone:  ____________________________
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SAMPLE TENANT SURVEY

1. What is your age? ______

2. What is your gender? ☐ Female         ☐ Male       ☐ Other

3. Are you a:      ☐  Current tobacco user      Do you currently use: ☐  Cigarettes 
       ☐  Former tobacco user    ☐  Chewing tobacco   
           ☐  Non-tobacco user     ☐  Cigars or pipes

4. Does smoke from other people’s cigarettes bother you?  

     ☐  A lot   ☐  Somewhat   ☐  A little       ☐  Not at all

5. Do you think that breathing smoke from other people’s cigarettes is:

 ☐  Very harmful to your health
 ☐  Somewhat harmful to your health
 ☐  Not very harmful to your health
 ☐  Not at all harmful to your health

6. Does anyone you live with smoke? ☐  Yes ☐  No

7. Which statement best describes the rules about smoking inside your apartment? 

 ☐  Smoking is not allowed anywhere inside my apartment
 ☐  Smoking is allowed in some places or at some times
 ☐  Smoking is allowed everywhere inside my apartment
 ☐  There are no rules about smoking inside my apartment

8. Please indicate what kind of tobacco policies you would support at your apartment/
   condominium complex:  

(CHECK ONLY ONE ANSWER FOR EACH LOCATION)

INDOOR COMMON AREAS OUTDOOR COMMON AREAS RESIDENTIAL UNITS
☐ Ban smoking ☐ Ban smoking ☐ Ban smoking in all units
☐ Limit smoking to a designated area ☐ Limit smoking to a designated area ☐ Ban smoking in certain buildings
☐ Have no restrictions on smoking ☐ Have no restrictions on smoking ☐ Have no restrictions on smoking
☐ Other ☐ Other ☐ Other

Comments:
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SAMPLE RESIDENT NOTIFICATION LETTER—OPTION 1

           Date

Dear Resident:

This letter is to inform you of a policy that is being implemented with regard to smoking on the property.

As of (date of your choice*), this apartment complex will be smoke-free. This means that there will be 
no smoking in this building or within 25 feet of any doors, windows, or balconies. This policy includes 
residents as well as guests, maintenance personnel, and staff. **

This policy was passed to protect the health of our residents, staff, and guests. Secondhand smoke 
is a Class A carcinogen, which means it is a cancer-causing agent and there is no safe exposure level. 
Secondhand smoke can travel through doorways, windows, wall joints, plumbing spaces, and even light 
fixtures, so secondhand smoke from one unit can adversely affect the health of residents in other units. 

If you or family members are interested in more information, please visit the following website, which can 
explain the benefits of living in a smoke-free environment in greater detail: www.tobaccofreeutah.org. 
This website will also link you to a number of resources that can help if you are thinking about quitting 
smoking.

Please feel free to contact (name of landlord or complex manager and phone number) if you have any 
questions. We will be happy to assist you in any way possible in making this a smooth transition.

Sincerely,

Landlord

*Some landlords choose to put the policy in place at the time of annual signing of new leases; others 
choose a date and give the tenants notice (for example, 60 days notice is required with HUD tenants), 
and some create a grandfather clause for existing tenants.

**Your specific policy may vary. Cite your policy details here.
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SAMPLE RESIDENT NOTIFICATION LETTER—OPTION 2

Dear Resident:

(Property name) has decided to go smoke-free in order to provide a healthier environment for its 
residents. The harmful effects of secondhand smoke (SHS) and the fire danger caused by indoor smoking 
are simply too great to ignore. Effective immediately, smoking is prohibited in all (indoor) common areas 
(such as entrances, hallways, exercise areas, and laundry rooms). A smoke-free policy for individual units 
will be phased in as leases are renewed.

Secondhand smoke is a serious health hazard. It is the third leading cause of preventable death in the 
United States, causing approximately 53,000 deaths each year. The 2006 Report of the U.S. Surgeon 
General states that there is no safe level of exposure to secondhand smoke.

Secondhand smoke is particularly dangerous to children and has been linked to Sudden Infant Death 
Syndrome (SIDS). In addition, approximately 900 people in the U.S. die each year from fires caused by 
smoldering cigarettes.

This is an issue for the entire complex because cigarette smoke travels from unit to unit. Secondhand 
smoke can seep through outlets in walls and spread through air conditioning and heating systems. The 
remodeling required to prevent SHS from transferring to another residence can be costly, yet is not 
effective in preventing SHS drift. The only effective method to stop the spread of SHS is a smoke-free 
policy.

Smoking will not be prohibited in individual units until leases come up for renewal. However, all leases 
from this point forward will include a smoke-free addendum. (In addition, existing lease terms may 
prohibit smoking in individual units if the resulting SHS is causing irritation to neighbors.)

Please consider this letter as notice about the changes that will be taking place upon your next lease 
renewal. We hope this new policy will help everyone breathe easier.

Please sign this letter and return to management within one week. If you have any questions or concerns, 
please contact management.

Regards,

Property Manager/Owner

I understand and agree to abide by the policies contained in this letter.

Name: ________________________      Date: _____________________   

Signature:______________________
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MODEL SMOKE-FREE LEASE ADDENDUM

Below you will find a Model Smoke-Free Lease Addendum, which can be considered for addition to existing 
leases. Before utilizing this model language, property managers and/or owners should consult with their own 
legal counsel.

Resident and all members of Resident’s family or household are parties to a written lease with 
Property Manager/Owner (the Lease). This Addendum states the following additional terms, 
conditions, and rules which are hereby incorporated into the lease. A breach of this Lease Addendum 
shall give each party all the rights contained herein, as well as the rights in the Lease.

1.  Purpose of No-Smoking Policy. The parties desire to mitigate (i) the irritation and known health 
risks from secondhand smoke; (ii) the increased maintenance, cleaning, and redecorating costs 
from smoking; and (iii) the increased risk of fire from smoking.

 2.  Definition of Smoking. The term “smoking” means the possession of any lighted tobacco 
product in any form (from Utah’s Indoor Clean Air Act). The definition of smoking could be 
more specific, for example: The term “smoking” means inhaling, exhaling, burning, or carrying 
any lighted cigar, cigarette, or other tobacco product in any manner or in any form. In Utah, 
electronic cigarettes, e-cigarettes and personal vaporizers also fall under this category, and all of 
the same restrictions apply.

 3.  Smoke-Free Complex. Resident agrees and acknowledges that the premises to be occupied 
by Resident and members of Resident’s household have been designated as a smoke-free living 
environment. Resident and members of Resident’s household shall not smoke anywhere in the 
unit rented by Resident, the building where the Resident’s dwelling is located, or in any of the 
common areas or adjoining grounds of such building or other parts of the rental community, nor 
shall Resident permit any guests or visitors under the control of Resident to do so. [If you provide 
an outdoor smoking area, specify where it is here.]

 4.  Resident to Promote No-Smoking Policy and to Alert Property Manager/Owner of Violations. 
Resident shall inform Resident’s guests of the no-smoking policy. Further, Resident shall 
promptly give Property Manager/Owner a written statement of any incident where secondhand 
smoke is migrating into the Resident’s unit from sources outside of the Resident’s apartment unit.

 5.  Property Manager/Owner to Promote No-Smoking Policy. Property Manager/Owner shall 
post “No Smoking” and/or “Smoke-Free” signs at entrances and exits, common areas, hallways, 
and in conspicuous places adjoining the grounds of the apartment complex.

 6.  Property Manager/Owner is Not a Guarantor of Smoke-Free Environment. Resident 
acknowledges that Property Manager/Owner’s adoption of a smoke-free living environment, 
and the efforts to designate the rental complex as smoke-free, do not make the Property 
Manager/Owner responsible for smoke in any of its Resident’s units or the common areas. 
However, Property Manager/Owner shall take reasonable steps to enforce the smoke-free 
terms of its leases to make the complex smoke-free. Property Manager/Owner is not required 
to take steps in response to smoking unless Property Manager/Owner knows of said smoking 
or has been given written notice of said smoking.  
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7.  Other Residents are Third-Party Beneficiaries of Resident’s Agreement. Resident agrees 
that the other Residents at the complex are the third-party beneficiaries of Resident’s smoke-free 
addendum agreements with Property Manager/Owner, meaning that Resident’s commitments 
in this Addendum are made to the other Residents as well as to the Property Manager/Owner. A 
Resident may sue another Resident for an injunction to prohibit smoking or for damages, but does 
not have the right to evict another Resident. Any suit between Residents herein shall not create a 
presumption that the Property Manager/Owner breached this Addendum.

 8.  Effect of Breach and Right to Terminate Lease. A breach of this Lease Addendum shall give 
each party all the rights contained herein, as well as the rights in the Lease. A material breach of 
this Addendum by the Resident shall be a material breach of the lease and grounds for immediate 
termination of the Lease by the Property Manager/Owner.

 9.  Disclaimer by Property Manager/Owner. Resident acknowledges that Property Manager/
Owner adoption of a smoke-free living environment, and the efforts to designate the rental 
complex as smoke-free, do not in any way change the standard of care that the Property Manager/
Owner would have to a Resident household to render buildings and premises designated as 
smoke-free any safer, more habitable, or improved in terms of air quality standards than any 
other rental premises. Property Manager/Owner specifically disclaims any implied or express 
warranties that the building, common areas, or Resident’s premises will have any higher or 
improved air quality standards than any other rental property. Property Manager/Owner cannot 
and does not warranty or promise that the rental premises or common areas will be free from 
secondhand smoke. Resident acknowledges that Property Manager/Owner’s ability to police, 
monitor, or enforce the agreements of this Addendum is dependent in significant part on 
voluntary compliance by Resident and Resident’s guests. Residents with respiratory ailments, 
allergies, or any other physical or mental condition relating to smoke are put on notice that 
Property Manager/Owner does not assume any higher duty of care to enforce this Addendum 
than any other Property Manager/Owner obligation under the Lease.    
 

            
Resident_________________________________     Date_______________________
            
Property Manager/Owner_____________________     Date_______________________ 
  
 
 
Optional Paragraph for existing rental communities that adopt no-smoking policies: 

10.  Effect on Current Residents. Resident acknowledges that current residents residing in the 
complex under a prior lease will not be immediately subject to the smoke-free policy. As current 
residents move out, or enter into new leases, the smoke-free policy will become effective for their 
unit or new lease.
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MODEL LEASE PROVISIONS

The following language can be used to implement a smoke-free policy in multi-unit housing. In 
apartment complexes, the provisions can be added to the lease. This is most easily done gradually 
as new individuals apply to become residents. For condominiums, the language can be added to the 
Conditions, Covenants, and Restrictions (CC&Rs) and implemented immediately or at a specified 
future date. 

Include in the “Definitions” section of the lease or CC&Rs:

SMOKING: The term “smoking” means inhaling, exhaling, burning, or carrying any lighted cigar, 
cigarette, or other tobacco product in any manner or in any form, including electronic cigarettes. 

Include in the restrictions section of the lease or CC&Rs:

SMOKING: Due to the increased risk of fire and the known adverse health effects of secondhand 
smoke, smoking is prohibited in any area of the property, both private and common, whether 
enclosed or outdoors. This policy applies to all owners, residents, guests, employees, and 
servicepersons. In Utah, this policy is also applicable to electronic cigarettes.
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SMOKE-FREE POLICY ADOPTION CHECKLIST

A smoke-free policy protects the health of your residents and decreases maintenance costs required 
after a smoker has vacated the apartment. 

This checklist helps you to adopt a policy easily and efficiently.

     ☐   Check out the Utah Statewide Smoke-Free Housing Directory website at  
www.tobaccofreeutah.org/muh-intro.html for sample policies, surveys, notification of policy, 
signs, and more.

     ☐  Find out how your residents feel about adopting a smoke-free policy. Conduct a survey to see 
their reactions and level of interest. 

     ☐  Allow tenants to respond, in person or in writing, to the announcement of the policy change.
Hold a meeting for residents to attend and share their opinions and concerns about the policy.

     ☐  Send a letter to residents explaining your intent to go smoke-free. In the letter, explain what the 
policy will be, results of violating the policy, your reasons for adoption, and the effective date of 
the policy.

     
     ☐  Create policy language to add to your lease or house rules. Remember, there is no one-size-fits-all 

policy, so choose what works best for your community and residents. 

     ☐  Provide information on cessation resources in your area to residents who may be interested in 
quitting. 

     ☐   Add a smoke-free policy to your house rules (this should occur no sooner than 30 days 
following the written announcement; 90 days notice is recommended). 
• For private properties, add to the lease of all new and renewing residents. 
•  For public housing, add the smoke-free clause to the house rules or lease addendum and 

have each new or renewing resident sign the lease in acknowledgement of the policy. 

     ☐  Post proper signage to ensure your residents and their guests are aware of the smoke-free       
policy. Call us for FREE signage at 801-538-6754.

     ☐  Add your community to the Utah Statewide Smoke-Free Housing Directory at  
www.tobaccofreeutah.org/tobfreehousing.php and attract residents looking for smoke-free 
apartments. 
•  Call the Utah Department of Health at 801-538-6754 and our staff will add your smoke-

free listing to the directory for you. Your application may also be faxed to 801-538-6540.
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• Utah Statewide Smoke-Free Housing Directory Application
• Smoke-Free Housing Signage
• Resources for Helping Residents Quit Smoking
• Making Sure the Policy Works
• Tips for Enforcement
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Materials and tips to help keep your property smoke-free once the policy  
is in place

POLICY IMPLEMENTATION MATERIALS
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Name of Community _______________________________________________ 

Address  ___________________________________________________________

City, State, and ZIP Code   _________________________________________________

Contact Name _________________________________________________________

Email ___________________________________________________________

Phone ___________________________________     Fax ______________________ 

Website Address _______________________________________________________

Public Housing           ☐ Yes         ☐ No     If yes, describe ______________________________ 

Total Number of Units ___________________________________________________

Number of Units Smoke-free  ___________________________________________

Number of Buildings Smoke-free ___________________________________________ 
         
Restrictions on Smoking on Premises          ☐ Yes              ☐ No      
 
Details (Exact policy language used and any additional information on the smoke-free policy):

Mail or fax completed form to:

Environmental Sanitation Program
Utah Dept. of Health
P.O. Box 142104
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2104

Fax: 801-538-6540

UTAH’S STATEWIDE SMOKE-FREE HOUSING DIRECTORY APPLICATION
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SMOKE-FREE HOUSING SIGNAGE

Signs are an easy and effective way to remind residents about the policy and inform guests about the  
non-smoking policy. Make sure to place signs on your property indicating which areas are covered by 
the smoke-free policy. If you designate an outdoor smoking area, make sure it is clearly marked and 
has appropriate tobacco litter receptacles. 

Examples of signs that are designed for use in multi-unit housing are shown below. To order signs, 
please contact the Utah Department of Health at 801-538-6754 or visit  
www.tobaccofreeutah.org/muh-signs.html
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A variety of signs are available for free from the Utah Department of Health to help 
make the transition to a smoke-free complex easier. 
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RESOURCES FOR HELPING RESIDENTS QUIT SMOKING

UTAH TOBACCO QUIT LINE 
English: 1.800.QUIT.NOW
Spanish: 1.855.DEJELO.YA (1.855.335.3569)    
TTY: 1-877-229-2182     
Monday–Sunday, 6:00 AM–11:00 PM 

Research shows that telephone counseling is one of the most effective ways to help people quit 
smoking or chewing tobacco. Telephone-based support is more likely to be used than other types 
of quitting services. Unlike in-person counseling, there is no need for transportation or childcare 
since callers can access services from wherever there is a telephone. Scheduling conflicts are reduced, 
since the service can be used nearly all day, every day, including weekends. With the Utah Tobacco 
Quit Line, critical assistance is just a phone call away. Quit Line services are available in English and 
Spanish. Translation is available into more than one hundred other languages. All services are free 
and completely confidential. When a person calls the Utah Tobacco Quit Line, he/she can:

•  Be connected with a trained coach who will help them develop a personalized quit  
plan and guide them through the quitting process.

•  Receive up to five individually tailored sessions with a coach.
•  Get a printed quitting guide that can help them in their quit. 
•  Receive information about how to help a friend or family member to quit. 
•   Discuss options for medications; including free Nicotine Replacement Therapy for 

eligible callers (youth are not eligible for NRT). 

WAy TO QUIT
www.waytoquit.org

Way to Quit is Utah’s one-stop shop for everything a tobacco user needs to kick the habit once and 
for all. From there, you can be connected to and learn more about all of the resources that Utah has 
to offer you: the Tobacco Quit Line, our online cessation services, the Smokefree Text program, and 
more. Also available is information regarding the most effective ways to go “cold turkey” and tips to 
get you through the inevitable cravings as you beat your habit, once and for all. It will be hard, but it 
can be done. Let us help you find your Way to Quit!
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MAKING SURE THE POLICY WORKS 

Let the Community Know about the New Policy

1. Educate Your Residents and Management 

Educating the residents, guests, and potential tenants about the new policy will be a big part of 
making sure the policy actually results in change. This is especially important for enforcement 
reasons. Depending on how the policy is written, management or community members may be the 
ones who have to enforce the policy. This will happen only if the community is made aware of the 
changes. This could include media outreach, community events, newsletters, etc. (See the Sample 
Resident Notification Letter in the Policy Adoption Materials section.)

Education Checklist:
     ☐   Ask your local health department staff to hold an education meeting for your residents and 

board members onsite.
     ☐   Educate management and maintenance employees on how to answer questions about the 

smoke-free policy.
     ☐   Rewrite your lease/rental agreements to include the smoke-free rules.
     ☐   Announce the change to residents in the form of a letter or newsletter. This is a great 

opportunity to educate residents who may want to quit about Utah’s available resources for 
helping people quit smoking. Post announcements that explain the new policy.

2. Post Signs 

The best way to let everyone know about your smoke-free policy is by putting up signs. Long after a 
smoke-free policy has been adopted, updating and putting up new signs reminds residents, guests, 
and potential tenants that the apartment or condominium complex is smoke-free. If you haven’t 
already, call the Utah Department of Health at 801-538-6754 to order signage.
 
Before you buy and put up any signs, keep the following things in mind:

• Where is smoking NOT allowed?
• How many signs do you need?
•   Do your signs need to include information regarding the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act 

(UICAA)?
• What type of material should your sign be made of (e.g., wood, metal, plastic)? 
• Does the property management logo need to be on the sign? 
• Does property management need to approve the sign?
• Do you need to have the sign made in more than one language?
• How soon do the signs need to be up? 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Po
licy Im

p
lem

enta
tio

n M
a

teria
ls



//////////////////////////////////
•34

Here are some suggestions for where you might want to put the signs:
• Common areas such as walkways, hallways, etc.
• Play areas
• Pool area
• Parking garages
• Patios/Balconies/Decks
• Clubhouse
• Picnic areas

See Smoke-Free Housing Signage examples in the Policy Implementation Materials section.

3. Celebrate 

Celebrate all of your hard work and success! Invite those who helped make the smoke-free policy 
change possible to a lunch to thank them for making the apartment or condominium complex a 
healthier place to live, work and play. You could also use this event as a “kick off ” to educate the 
community about the new policy.

4. Enforcement 

• Handle complaints in a timely manner.
• Enforce all policies in the same way.
• Post signs.

5. Evaluation 

Develop a plan to monitor how your policy is being implemented and if it is working. Once the 
policy has been around for awhile, don’t forget to sit down and evaluate how it is working. With 
this information, you can improve your policy and make changes to help it work better. A good 
monitoring plan can also provide proof of success to board members and other communities. 

Evaluation Checklist:
     ☐   Have management and maintenance employees been informed about the new smoke-free 

policy and been told how to enforce it?
     ☐  How were residents, management and owners told about the new policy change?
     ☐   Were there any problems? How were they handled? Make sure you write down the dates of any 

problems and how they were worked out.
     ☐  Are signs in the right places? How many are up? Take pictures of the signs.
     ☐   If someone wants to quit using tobacco products, do you have resources available in the sales/

rental office for letting them know where they can go for help? 

6. Tell Others 

Throughout the process, make sure you share your progress with other property management 
companies, Home Owner Associations (HOAs) and the Utah Apartment Association. It is 
important that those who were involved in passing the policy are told of successes. Share results with 
city and county officials, state agencies, law enforcement, and other organizations that are trying to 
pass similar policies.
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ENFORCEMENT TIPS

New Buildings

1.  Smoke-free residence policies usually take care of themselves, as long as all residents know about 
them. Because residents expect and tend to prefer a smoke-free environment, they will abide 
by the policy. If you get a complaint, you should act right away, just as you would if one of your 
residents had a maintenance problem. Enforcing the smoke-free policy is the job of the Property 
Manager or Owner. If you don’t act on the problems quickly, other residents might start violating 
the policy, too.

2.  Act on residents’ concerns quickly. The sooner you act, the less likely it will be that more will come 
up. If you enforce your policy seriously, residents are less likely to test the policy.

3.  Try to work out all problems in a friendly manner. In Utah, if your resident violates your no- 
smoking policy, you will give him/her a three-day comply or vacate notice. If the resident 
continues to violate the no-smoking policy, you may evict him/her. 

4.  Enforce all of your policies in the same way. Some courts say that an unwillingness to enforce a 
policy (such as a pet policy) may constitute a waiver of that policy and keep you from enforcing 
the policy in the future. 

5.  Include a provision in your lease that says waivers can only be made in writing. This will further 
support you in case one of your residents argues that the smoke-free policy has been waived due to 
a lack of prior enforcement. 

 
Additional Tips for Existing Buildings

1.  If a problem comes up that involves a resident whose lease doesn’t yet contain the smoke-free 
clause, kindly ask the resident to smoke outside or ventilate the residence while smoking indoors. 
You can also take measures to insulate smoking and non-smoking residents’ units in order to 
reduce the transfer of secondhand smoke from one unit to another.

2.  If necessary, try to move residents who smoke in their unit to a separate part of the building in 
order to prevent secondhand smoke transfer. You may have to offer incentives in order to get those 
residents to agree to move. You can also let residents who are concerned about secondhand smoke 
know that you’re working on a smoke-free policy that will help address their concerns. In the 
meantime, you can refer residents to the Utah Smoke-Free Apartment and Condominium Guide 
at www.tobaccofreeutah.org/muh-fixes.html for tips on how to keep secondhand smoke from 
entering their apartments.
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Q:  Will it cost me money if I adopt a smoke-free policy? 

A:  Actually, you could save money with a smoke-free policy. Smoking causes a lot of expensive 
property damage—from having to spend extra money to clean the apartment of a smoker, to money 
you might need to spend as a result of a fire. It can cost up to twice as much to fix an apartment 
a smoker has lived in. That includes removing tar and nicotine from walls, cabinets, blinds, and 
fixtures, getting the smoke smell out of drapes, carpets, and walls, and repairing any damaged, 
burned, or singed carpet, tiles, and drapes. It might also make your property more appealing since 
more and more renters are looking for non-smoking units. 

Q:  Is a smoke-free policy unfair to smokers?

A:  A smoke-free policy is not unfair to smokers. Smoking is a choice and federal law does not 
consider smokers a protected class. Property owners may use the fact that smoking adds maintenance 
expenses and damages carpets, drapes, and paint as a reason to prohibit someone from smoking in 
the unit. A smoke-free policy is acceptable if you target the behavior, not the person. Smokers can 
rent, they just can’t smoke in the unit or other smoke-free areas. Under Utah law, you have the right 
to tell people not to smoke in the units, building, common areas, and on the premises.

Q:  Why are smoke-free apartments and condominiums legal?

A:  Laws and court rulings give nonsmokers the right to be free from exposure to secondhand 
smoke. There are federal, state, and local laws protecting nonsmokers. In fact, federal and state laws 
give apartment owners the right to adopt total smoke-free policies. There are many cases involving 
residents who have sued because they found the secondhand smoke to be a nuisance and couldn’t 
enjoy their homes. In federally subsidized housing, you can’t refuse to rent a unit to a smoker, but 
you can prohibit them and even guests from smoking in the unit. Advertising “smoke-free” or  
“no-smoking facilities” is also legal.

Q:  Can I adopt a non-smoking rule in HUD-assisted housing?

A:  Yes. According to federal and state laws, HUD rules, and legal cases, all 50 states allow for a ban 
on smoking for new tenants who move into public or Section 8 housing. You may have to allow 
tenants who are already living there to continue smoking until the lease comes up for renewal. You 
can also adopt a no-smoking policy as part of your house rules or lease. Changes to house rules can 
take effect after you give long enough notice to residents. If you wish to change the model lease 
provided to you by HUD, you will need HUD approval. In July 2012, HUD reissued a notice that 
“strongly encourages Public Housing Authorities to implement non-smoking policies in some or all 
their public housing units.” In September 2010, HUD issued an optional notice for owners/managers 
or agents of federally subsidized private housing encouraging the adoption of smoke-free policies in 
some or all of their properties. 

FREQUENTLY ASKED 
QUESTIONS
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Q:  Would a smoke-free policy make an angry smoker sue me? 

A:  It’s more likely that you will be sued by a frustrated nonsmoker than a smoker. Courts today usually 
favor nonsmokers over smokers in legal arguments. Many legal cases involving multi-unit housing 
all over the United States have been won by nonsmoking residents. Under Utah law, secondhand 
smoke is considered a nuisance in apartments and condominiums. For more information on the 
Secondhand Smoke Amendments, see the Legal Issues section, or contact your legal advisor.

Q:  Is a smoke-free policy hard to enforce?

A: Once you put a policy into place, smoking will be so noticeable by other residents that you are 
likely to hear about it. Enforcing a policy is easier than getting in the middle of issues between 
smokers and nonsmokers. “No smoking” signs let everyone know what’s expected. You could 
probably use the same enforcement policy you use for other problems that go against the rules 
such as loud parties, or parking in prohibited areas. If you have a “no-smoking” policy in place and 
don’t enforce it, that could get in you in trouble, too. For more information on enforcement, see 
“Enforcement Tips” in the Policy Implementation Materials section.

Q:  Will I lose renters if I put a smoke-free policy in place?

A:  National surveys show people prefer smoke-free apartments. For example, in a 2003 survey 
in Washington State, two-thirds of renters preferred smoke-free housing. Seventy-five percent of 
Michigan renters don’t smoke; yet most can’t find smoke-free apartments to rent. Surveys also 
show that most smokers already go outside to smoke. We can show you how to go smoke-free while 
keeping your tenants who already smoke happy, too.

Q:  Where can I advertise my smoke-free property?

A:  You can advertise your property on the Utah Statewide Smoke-Free Housing Directory. This is 
a listing of properties that have adopted a smoke-free policy. The list is provided as a free service to 
property managers, owners, and renters.
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Please view the enclosed 20 minute DVD film featuring Utah residents and property managers as 
they describe their efforts to increase their business revenue and the health of their tenants by going 
smoke-free.



SMOKE-FREE HOUSING


